When you are hurt on the job, you need to report your injury to your employer properly in order to protect your rights under Georgia’s workers’ compensation laws. Georgia law allows you to give notice in person, by phone or even by email.
When giving notice, keep the following suggestions in mind:
- make sure to give notice to a supervisor or manager. Notice to a co-worker does not count.
- ask for a written acknowledgement of the notice that you give
- you have 30 days after your accident to give notice – it is best to give notice as soon as possible
- your notice of injury should be specific – include the date, time, place and circumstances of your injury. Describe what hurts and identify any witnesses
We recommend that you provide some form of written notice to your employer. You are likely to remember more details when you write down what happened shortly after the actual accident. A written report is likely to be more precise than a spoken record. You can also use a copy of your written report of injury when you visit the doctor who will also want to know what happened.
The days and weeks immediately after your workers’ compensation injury set the tone for your entire claim. Our clients often report a major negative change in the attitude of their employer and their supervisor. You have to change your mindset and not assume that your employer will treat you fairly or do the right thing.
If you are dealing with a serious injury you need to focus in protecting your own interests and insisting that the employer and their insurance company provide you lost wage benefits, quality medical care and all other benefits set out under Georgia law.
Ginsberg Law Offices has been helping injured Georgia workers recover benefits from hostile insurance companies and uncooperative employers for over 25 years. We are here to help you as well. Call us at 770-351-0801 or use the form on this web page to reach us by email.